The wharf is an integral part of Gibsons’ working harbour and an important link to its historic dependence on water transportation. Once the social hub of the community, the first government wharf was built in 1900-1901 and re-built in 1947. Tugboats provided the first regular service between Gibson’s Landing and the mainland, transporting loggers to nearby camps and delivering supplies in the scows behind them. Later, Union Steamships called on the wharf and provided a popular passenger service that transported residents and tourist alike to the Sunshine Coast. Imagine the sights and sounds of a Union Steamship unloading it’s passengers on the Gibsons wharf on a warm summer evening…