The building which is now the museum is the original train station. It was built in 1914, when Valemount did not exist, but a town called Swift Creek was just up the creek. In 1927 the CNR (Canadian National Railway) moved the station and renamed it Valemount, meaning “Valley in the Mountains”. The station was used until 1981. In 1987 the Valemount Historic Society bought it for $1 and relocated it to its present location. We have a real caboose outside on its own railway tracks as well as speeders. Many of our visitors are amazed by our displays and call it “a great little museum”.