Who knew that the residents of Gibsons Landing loved ice cream so much? Originally constructed as a dress making shop in 1922, this location was re-purposed as a general store in 1930 by Frank Wyngaert. Adding a living quarters on the lower level, Wyngaert renovated the “rather crude un-finished ice cream parlour” and renamed it Wyngaert’s Ice Cream Parlour and Tea Room. It is even rumoured that Frank met his wife Jean while she was perusing the aisles of the store. Located in prime real estate due to it’s proximity to the wharf, it is easy to imagine a busy summer day with visitors streaming off of the Union Steamship and lining up for ice cream and cool drinks. For over 80 years through many different owners and incarnations, ice cream has been sold on this site.